some old Postadays

Now that I’ve gotten straight in my mind that I want to mainly write at my blog and share pictures at my smugmug site, and I’ve settled on the design* of my blog, and I’ve opened up my blog to the public, I’m going to write about a few Postaday prompts I skipped earlier in the year.

* Regarding the design of my blog, I’m not loving the flower.  However, I’m feeling committed to the underlying design and theme (Coraline), after having tried countless others, and when I’m ready to change the look, it will be a matter of simply designing a different background and header, and uploading it.

Topic #23 brought to you by Plinky.com: Is it always better to know the truth, even when it hurts? Or is ignorance bliss? Or are they both true some of the time?

I lean much more often toward it being better to know the truth.  I don’t think it’s easy to get the truth though.  People are generally too polite to be honest.  I’d rather know if someone has some criticism for me though.  It would help me improve myself.

Topic #25 brought to you by Plinky.com: What is your favorite sound?  Bonus topic: Since we did the sound of your own laugh recently, here’s a bonus – what is a sound you’ve never heard, that you hope to hear someday?

Children laughing is a wonderful sound, especially my own children.  I came across some videos I’d made a couple of years ago, in which my daughter is laughing hysterically, and it was even more special because her voice has changed over the years.  It was infectious, making us laugh too while we watched the video. Someday, though I will not push it, I would love to hear laughter of grandchildren.

Topic #29 brought to you by Plinky.com: If you could live forever, would you? Why or why not?

Tough question.  I don’t want to be held to my answer.  It is one thing answering a hypothetical question, when the actuality of it happening seems very unlikely, and another thing making the choice for real.  I have actually considered this before.  I remember thinking about it as long ago as high school, when I enjoyed having philosophical discussions with my friends and The Question Book. And in college (or was it high school? Amazing how we can forget!) I did a research report on cryogenics, I was so interested in the idea of being alive hundreds of years from now, to see how much life has changed.

I still think it would be interesting.  History being a topic of great fascination to me, I’d love to travel either to the past or the future.  So the idea of living forever is intriguing, and I certainly would be tempted.  However, then I begin to think about things like how crowded the Earth would become if everyone lived forever.  And would we get lazy and careless with an unlimited amount of time?  Still, I’m leaning toward yes, I would like to live forever, because I simply enjoy being alive.

Topic #35 brought to you by Plinky.com: When teleportation is finally possible, where will you beam yourself first? (Yes, you can assume you’d be able to teleport yourself back. It’d be a teleportation app for your phone of course, which you’d keep in your pocket).

If I’m still living across the country from my parents, I think I’ll go visit them.  Then I will use teleportation to go anywhere I want to go.  I have often wished for it!  Particularly when stuck in traffic.

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

