cliff jumping

Yosemite super climbers
cliff jumping in Yosemite, California | photo by Lynsey Dyer for National Geographic

Here’s a path I didn’t take. 😉 However, I did jump off a cliff once. It was in the early 90s, I was near La Jolla Cove in San Diego with my boyfriend, and we came across a group of people jumping from a cliff into the ocean. My first impulse was to stay back, but… I don’t know … maybe at that moment I decided that if my friend jumped off something, which he did, then I would (contrary to the common parental retort to “But my friends are doing it.”) I actually don’t remember making the decision. However, I do remember the breathtaking rush as gravity pulled me down and the gushing feeling as I entered the water. It was exhilarating. Not something I ever wanted to repeat, even right after I did it. But I’m glad I did it once.

If you click on the picture, you can see more photos at the National Geographic website. Click HERE to watch a beautiful five minute National Geographic documentary about a group of people who climb the cliffs in Yosemite. I’ve been to Yosemite a couple of times. There is actually a picture of me there already posted to my blog.

I don’t have a photo of the spot where I jumped, but if you’d like to see beautiful La Jolla Cove, here is a shot I took when we visited San Diego last month. The place where I jumped is around the farthest bend and a bit further beyond that. This La Jolla coastline was my favorite place to visit when I was in college, and it’s even more special now because it’s where I told my husband to meet me the first time (after meeting online first). This photo has been my computer wallpaper since we returned from our recent trip.

La Jolla (San Diego County), California | photo by me, Michele Kendzie
Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

