Project 365 Day 127

My family has enjoyed several Renaissance Faires in Virginia and Maryland.  The first one I ever attended was with my husband over a decade ago in California.  It’s wonderful to be immersed in history, surrounded by period costumes, experiencing activities and foods of the time.

Today’s visit to the Faire was even more special because several members of my local photography club met up there.  So I had the opportunity to ask lots of questions and get feedback and just enjoy talking about one of my favorite subjects.

Here is one of my favorite shots of the day.  I was focusing on the beauty of the costume and I like how the photo shows barely any sign of modern day.

I went back and forth a lot between shady and sunny white balance in this wooded area of the fair.  I used shady WB in this shot and I’m not sure I like the trees, but, compared to other shots I got of this man with sunny WB, I like how his costume looks better here.

Of course, as usual, I was hurrying to capture the shot.  I have a long history of being quick to compose a shot before I miss recording a memory about one of my kids.  Maybe cutting off the edge of his hat and the bottom of his boots isn’t bad but I would do better to slow down and compose more carefully.

Click on the photo to visit my Project 365 gallery.  Critique very welcome!

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

