2012 Project 365 Day 060

Day 060  Yes, these are in the house, in the evening, not much light.  50mm  f/1.8 (to maximize the light)  1/250 (to stop action because I have always-moving kids)  ISO3200 (because it was the only variable I was willing to change; I decided grain is preferable to blur)  I took 19 photos in this room this evening and processed all of them in Lightroom.  Then I looked through them about 5 times, having trouble deciding which one is best.  I finally decided this one is among the best in composition and a nice profile.  At first I didn't like the guitar in the foreground, blocking some of the scene, but then again, blocking the background clutter is a good thing, the curve is interesting, and you can see enough of Ian's ukelele to know what's going on.  A few minutes after I took these photos, Caroline pulled out some old home videos on DVD I made way back in 2008 and we watched one.  Besides being wonderfully sentimental, it made me realize how far I've come in my photography.  I did make some good pictures back then, but so many were blurry or harsh with flash too. I treasure them. I'm grateful I was able to capture memories of my kids when they were little. I'm also glad to be developing my photography skills. Today's photo is not a great example of them, but it's not too bad for an indoor night time shot. Also I'm practicing a lot with Lightroom right now. I'm kind of tentative and lack confidence as I bump the sliders lightly, but I'm starting to figure it out. Interestingly, I am finding that even if I shoot in tungsten white balance, hitting it again in LR improves the photo further.  Is that because I'm shooting RAW?  For this photo, in LR I increased brightness, exposure, and fill light, and then for the first time, because I thought it looked too red, I played with the red hue shift slider.  Finally, I decreased the noise a little with the luminance slider.  I also tried out some of the presets, and of course turning it black and white improves it a lot, but I'm trying to learn to post process by myself without using presets or actions, so I don't want to rely on them, and for this project, I want to show what I'm doing on my own.  Today I began GottaPixels' introductory Lightroom course. The first lesson was about how to import pictures into Lightroom, which I already know of course, but I'm sure I'll learn more as the month goes on.

Yes, today’s photos are in the house, in the evening, not much light. 50mm f/1.8 (to maximize the light) 1/250 (to stop action because I have always-moving kids) ISO3200 (because it was the only variable I was willing to change; I decided grain is preferable to blur)

I took 19 photos in this room this evening and processed all of them in Lightroom. Then I looked through them about 5 times, having trouble deciding which one is best. I finally decided this one is among the best in composition and a nice profile. At first I didn’t like the guitar in the foreground, blocking some of the scene, but then again, blocking the background clutter is a good thing, the curve is interesting, and you can see enough of Ian’s ukelele to know what’s going on.

A few minutes after I took these photos, Caroline pulled out some old home videos on DVD I made way back in 2008 and we watched one. Besides feeling wonderfully sentimental, it made me realize how far I’ve come in my photography. I did make some good pictures back then, but so many were blurry or harsh with flash too. I treasure them. I’m grateful I was able to capture memories of my kids when they were little. I’m also glad to be developing my photography skills. Today’s photo is not a great example of them, but it’s not too bad for an indoor night time shot.

Also I’m practicing a lot with Lightroom right now. I’m kind of tentative and lack confidence as I bump the sliders lightly, but I’m starting to figure it out. Interestingly, I am finding that even if I shoot in tungsten white balance, hitting it again in LR improves the photo further. Is that because I’m shooting RAW? For this photo, in LR I increased brightness, exposure, and fill light, and then for the first time, because I thought it looked too red, I played with the red hue shift slider. Finally, I decreased the noise a little with the luminance slider. I also tried out some of the presets, and of course turning it black and white improves it a lot, but I’m trying to learn to post process by myself without using presets or actions, so I don’t want to rely on them, and for this project, I want to show what I’m doing on my own.

Today I began GottaPixels’ introductory Lightroom course. The first lesson was about how to import pictures into Lightroom, which I already know of course, but I’m sure I’ll learn more as the month goes on.

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

