2012 Project 365 Day 091

Day 091 My First Diary -- This is where my journaling habit started. I have no recollection how I got this diary and I've long thought it kind of ugly and the contents rather boring but it's special to me. I don't think I'd remember most of what's in it if I hadn't written it down when I was 8 or 9 years old. Not that there is a lot of content. I was not a prolific writer until later.  There are many pages on which I wrote "the same" or "I played."  But there are enough interesting snippets to make it interesting including how much money I was earning in our class store, the names of my friends and crushes, and lists of gifts I received. The tape label was added sometime during my teen years when I had accumulated a couple dozen journals, mostly spiral notebooks, and decided to organize them. The papers sticking out the top are a four page essay I wrote in 4th grade titled What I Did on My Easter Vacation about which, at the time, I was so proud I asked my teacher to please read my name when she read the essay aloud in class, despite her promise to not read anyone's names.As for photography, I shot this on my back deck this partly cloudy afternoon.  50mm  Manual  f/8  1/500sec  ISO200

My First Diary — This is where my journaling habit started. I have no recollection how I got this diary and I’ve long thought it kind of ugly and the contents rather boring but it’s special to me. I don’t think I’d remember most of what’s in it if I hadn’t written it down when I was 8 or 9 years old. Not that there is a lot of content. I was not a prolific writer until later. There are many pages on which I wrote “the same” or “I played.” But there are enough interesting snippets to make it interesting including how much money I was earning in our class store, the names of my friends and crushes, and lists of gifts I received. The tape label was added sometime during my teen years when I had accumulated a couple dozen journals, mostly spiral notebooks, and decided to organize them. The papers sticking out the top are a four page essay I wrote in 4th grade titled What I Did on My Easter Vacation about which, at the time, I was so proud I asked my teacher to please read my name when she read the essay aloud in class, despite her promise to not read anyone’s names.As for photography, I shot this on my back deck this partly cloudy afternoon. 50mm Manual f/8 1/500sec ISO200

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

