Carrot Muffins

Nourished Kitchen posted a grain-free Carrot Muffin today and I decided to make them this morning . . . with modifications! We are not grain free, just wheat free, and I’m not opposed to white sugar. Also, my daughter is allergic to nuts, so I don’t use almond flour.  Click on the link to see the original recipe.  Here’s what I did.

I used five flours. From the white pile on the left, clockwise: white rice, coconut, tapioca, teff, and corn. I don’t use almond flour because Caroline is allergic to nuts.
finely shredded carrots mixed with the five flours, baking powder and baking soda
eggs and honey; I didn’t have enough honey, so along with 1/4 cup of honey I also used a cup of white sugar (not pictured)

I used Silk brand plain yogurt just because that’s what we had.  I would have preferred coconut milk yogurt. I also ran out of coconut oil and finished filling the cup with olive oil.

I decided to add sunflower seeds for crunch and protein and dried cranberries for color (their additonal sweetness wasn’t necessary)
I haven’t figured out how to do a non-dairy whipped cream yet, so I just made a simple powdered sugar and coconut milk glaze for the top. These are incredibly moist!

Yum!

2 comments

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

