2012 Project 365 Day 132

Day 132  This is the only photo I took on this very busy day.  I was sitting in a meeting of my local photography club, which got off to a slow start.  An architectural photographer came to speak to us about his specialty.  Unfortunately, the library is not friendly to Macs and technological problems kept us from getting started on topic for quite a while.  I enjoyed chatting with my fellow club members about various topics, some not even related to photography, and at one point, after I had taken my camera out of my bag, I decided to make this picture.  I'm very pleased with it.  It may seem a boring subject to others, but as a sentimental sort of person I like to have photos of things to remember them.  I might even look at those out of focus chairs or the table top in the far future and fondly remember the hours my children and I spent in the local libraries with our homeschooling friends.  I'm also happy I'm finding it easier to get good focus and exposure and remember to think of composition, all at the same time.  I set my ISO to 800 because I was in the dim library room and clicked White Balance over to fluorescent.  I moved myself so the chairs in the background would not be directly behind my subject.  I chose a wider aperture, f/4.5, so those chairs would blur.  I spot metered off the grey edge of the table. And finally,  I was able to hold the camera still at 1/50sec.  It probably wouldn't have been my picture of the day if I'd made any others, but It's better than many of the pictures I was choosing for this project early in the year!

This is the only photo I took on this very busy day. I was sitting in a meeting of my local photography club, which got off to a slow start. An architectural photographer came to speak to us about his specialty. Unfortunately, the library is not friendly to Macs and technological problems kept us from getting started on topic for quite a while. I enjoyed chatting with my fellow club members about various topics, some not even related to photography, and at one point, after I had taken my camera out of my bag, I decided to make this picture. I’m very pleased with it. It may seem a boring subject to others, but as a sentimental sort of person I like to have photos of things to remember them. I might even look at those out of focus chairs or the table top in the far future and fondly remember the hours my children and I spent in the local libraries with our homeschooling friends.
I’m also happy I’m finding it easier to get good focus and exposure and remember to think of composition, all at the same time. I set my ISO to 800 because I was in the dim library room and clicked White Balance over to fluorescent. I moved myself so the chairs in the background would not be directly behind my subject. I chose a wider aperture, f/4.5, so those chairs would blur. I spot metered off the grey edge of the table. And finally, I was able to hold the camera still at 1/50sec. It probably wouldn’t have been my picture of the day if I’d made any others, but It’s better than many of the pictures I was choosing for this project early in the year!

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

