2012 Project 365 Day 133

Day 133  Happy Mothers Day!  In Shooting 101 class this past week we had 3 lessons and assignments.  1. Figure out which of two grey cards -- either 18% or 12.5% gives better exposure with our own particular camera.  I struggled with this all week because I got inconsistent results.  2. Set custom white balance.  I knew why to do this but hadn't learned how.  The procedure was easy to do, but I struggled with it while I was still unconfident about which grey card was best.  3. Find what spot on my camera's meter gives the best exposure for at least one member of my family.  This uses the grey card too, so even though I understood the procedure and can do it, I was getting poor results at first.  Finally, just in time the morning before Week 3 lessons will be posted later tonight, after taking several more practice shots with the grey card and with Robert's help I've decided the 18% grey card is the best one for my camera. And I have determined that I can meter off Robert or Caroline's skin at about  1. ISO800  f/4  1/25sec

Happy Mothers Day! In Shooting 101 class this past week we had 3 lessons and assignments. 1. Figure out which of two grey cards — either 18% or 12.5% gives better exposure with our own particular camera. I struggled with this all week because I got inconsistent results. 2. Set custom white balance. I knew why to do this but hadn’t learned how. The procedure was easy to do, but I struggled with it while I was still unconfident about which grey card was best. 3. Find what spot on my camera’s meter gives the best exposure for at least one member of my family. This uses the grey card too, so even though I understood the procedure and can do it, I was getting poor results at first. Finally, just in time the morning before Week 3 lessons will be posted later tonight, after taking several more practice shots with the grey card and with Robert’s help I’ve decided the 18% grey card is the best one for my camera. And I have determined that I can meter off Robert or Caroline’s skin at about +1. ISO800 f/4 1/25sec

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

