2012 Project 365 Day 136

Day 136  Today we went to the National Zoo!  This is one of my pictures of which I'm proudest today because when I metered I made the marker go into the underexposed side since I was metering off the dark lion, and it came out quite well exposed.  I was metering like this a lot today -- only usually in the other direction, metering off kids' skin -- and I was happily surprised when I got home and saw my pictures.  I only deleted 5 or 6 awful ones out of the nearly 100 total and most of the rest are well exposed.  While I was at the zoo I thought I got only a few well exposed.  It's hard to see my LCD in sunshine.  They're not so great compositionally, but I've really been working hard on exposure this month so I'm happy!  I can feel the improvement in my photography.Just a few minutes after this photo, a woman approached me holding out her camera and asked if I would take a picture of her and her daughter by the zoo sign.  After I said sure she told me to "look here" and "press this button."  I couldn't help laughing.  She asked, "What?"  It seemed complicated so I simply said, "Well, I'm a photographer."  It just struck me as hilarious to be told how to point and shoot after all these months of studying manual photography.  After I said "I'm a photographer" I was pleased how easily that rolled off my tongue too.50mm  Manual  spot metering  ISO200  f/3.2  1/2500sec

Today we went to the National Zoo! This is one of my pictures of which I’m proudest today because when I metered I made the marker go into the underexposed side since I was metering off the dark lion, and it came out quite well exposed. I was metering like this a lot today — only usually in the other direction, metering off kids’ skin — and I was happily surprised when I got home and saw my pictures. I only deleted 5 or 6 awful ones out of the nearly 100 total and most of the rest are well exposed. While I was at the zoo I thought I got only a few well exposed. It’s hard to see my LCD in sunshine. They’re not so great compositionally, but I’ve really been working hard on exposure this month so I’m happy! I can feel the improvement in my photography.Just a few minutes after this photo, a woman approached me holding out her camera and asked if I would take a picture of her and her daughter by the zoo sign. After I said sure she told me to “look here” and “press this button.” I couldn’t help laughing. She asked, “What?” It seemed complicated so I simply said, “Well, I’m a photographer.” It just struck me as hilarious to be told how to point and shoot after all these months of studying manual photography. After I said “I’m a photographer” I was pleased how easily that rolled off my tongue too.50mm Manual spot metering ISO200 f/3.2 1/2500sec

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

