2012 Project 365 Day 142

Day 142  Busy organizing papers all day, I didn't pick up my camera until the evening.  Thank goodness for long daylight hours this time of year.  We also finally got a break from the continuous light rain we've had for days and enjoyed some bright sunshine and huge fluffy clouds late in the day.  One of the last assignments in Shooting 101 was to "find the best light around your house" and the garage is often a good place.  I'm not sure if that's the case when the sun is pouring into it though.  The sun is setting behind my right shoulder as I took this.  I metered off her face, with the meter around  2/3 and used back button focus.  50mm Manual  f/3.2  ISO200  1/320 sec  Maybe if I had opened the aperture more the background would have been better blurred out.  I've been trying NOT to shoot wide open lately though, because I used to all the time and I think that was why I had focus issues.

Busy organizing papers all day, I didn’t pick up my camera until the evening. Thank goodness for long daylight hours this time of year. We also finally got a break from the continuous light rain we’ve had for days and enjoyed some bright sunshine and huge fluffy clouds late in the day. One of the last assignments in Shooting 101 was to “find the best light around your house” and the garage is often a good place. I’m not sure if that’s the case when the sun is pouring into it though. The sun is setting behind my right shoulder as I took this. I metered off her face, with the meter around +2/3 and used back button focus. 50mm Manual f/3.2 ISO200 1/320 sec Maybe if I had opened the aperture more the background would have been better blurred out. I’ve been trying NOT to shoot wide open lately though, because I used to all the time and I think that was why I had focus issues.

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

