2012 Project 365 Day 202

Day 202  Friday  Today I scurried to photograph as many items on the Clickinmoms Scavenger Hunt list as I could.  I even took one of my daughters out to help me capture a few more.  Having my daughter with me, I felt braver asking strangers for help, and also she helped me by watching out for the list items and holding the sign.  I got a tire being changed, a unicycle, a girl getting her ear pierced, and another girl with red hair.  Then we did the weekly grocery shopping and bought some ingredients so I could make eggs benedict and something resembling a pavlova, two more items on the list.  I made several more including mowing the lawn and running in the sprinkler (which we bought at the grocery store today!). This photo is list item #22, "a kid jumping in a puddle."  I couldn't believe this was the only puddle we could find after this morning's rain. My favorite part of the scavenger hunt was learning that most people will help strangers, even with strange requests like, "I'm on a scavenger hunt and I need a photo of __________.  Will you allow me . . . ?"  I was only turned away once and it wasn't by my potential subject, but by her boss.  There are only two things I didn't like about the scavenger hunt. First of all, my family got sick of my camera. I think we're all glad the hunt is over.  I hope they recover and welcome it again in two weeks when my Natural Light 101 class begins.  The other thing is that I found it cut into my photography practice.  I shot more often in automatic in the last three weeks than I ever did since before I bought my dslr two years ago.  I didn't have to, of course, but the emphasis in this contest is on quantity, not quality.  Maybe next year I'll challenge myself to do the scavenger hunt on manual.

Today I scurried to photograph as many items on the Clickinmoms Scavenger Hunt list as I could. I even took one of my daughters out to help me capture a few more. Having my daughter with me, I felt braver asking strangers for help, and also she helped me by watching out for the list items and holding the sign. I got a tire being changed, a unicycle, a girl getting her ear pierced, and another girl with red hair. Then we did the weekly grocery shopping and bought some ingredients so I could make eggs benedict and something resembling a pavlova, two more items on the list. I made several more including mowing the lawn and running in the sprinkler (which we bought at the grocery store today!). This photo is list item #22, “a kid jumping in a puddle.” I couldn’t believe this was the only puddle we could find after this morning’s rain.

My favorite part of the scavenger hunt was learning that most people will help strangers, even with strange requests like, “I’m on a scavenger hunt and I need a photo of __________. Will you allow me . . . ?” I was only turned away once and it wasn’t by my potential subject, but by her boss. There are only two things I didn’t like about the scavenger hunt. First of all, my family got sick of my camera. I think we’re all glad the hunt is over. I hope they recover and welcome it again in two weeks when my Natural Light 101 class begins. The other thing is that I found it cut into my photography practice. I shot more often in automatic in the last three weeks than I ever did since before I bought my dslr two years ago. I didn’t have to, of course, but the emphasis in this contest is on quantity, not quality. Maybe next year I’ll challenge myself to do the scavenger hunt on manual.

2 comments

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

