2012 Project 365 Day 226

Day 226  Today I had a major growth moment in photography thanks to my Natural Light 101 instructor, Lisa.  Somehow I didn't learn in Shooting 101 that using a grey card for exposure is different from using it to set custom white balance.  I was so confused when Lisa told me this that it sent me back to my Shooting 101 lessons.  I reread them and repeated the exercises and realized the reason I didn't learn it is because it was not really explained.  Here is the last photo I took during this remedial study. It is custom white balanced and metered to +1/3 because when I tested her with the grey card  previously I found she is about +1/3. I also realized that the lighting is not actually EVEN which was a prerequisite for metering with the grey card, I think.  But at least I paid attention to the brightest part of her face when figuring out the +1/3 exposure for her.  1/125sec  f/2  ISO400   What a relief to have reached this milestone, so I can make good exposures and well color-balanced photos!

Today I had a major growth moment in photography thanks to my Natural Light 101 instructor, Lisa. Somehow I didn’t learn in Shooting 101 that using a grey card for exposure is different from using it to set custom white balance. I was so confused when Lisa told me this that it sent me back to my Shooting 101 lessons. I reread them and repeated the exercises and realized the reason I didn’t learn it is because it was not really explained. Here is the last photo I took during this remedial study. It is custom white balanced and metered to +1/3 because when I tested her with the grey card previously I found she is about +1/3. I also realized that the lighting is not actually EVEN which was a prerequisite for metering with the grey card, I think. But at least I paid attention to the brightest part of her face when figuring out the +1/3 exposure for her. 1/125sec f/2 ISO400 What a relief to have reached this milestone, so I can make good exposures and well color-balanced photos!

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

