2012 Project 365 Day 234

Day 234  The weather today gave me another opportunity to practice shooting in overcast lighting.  I didn't bother with a grey card and just metered at  1 for my older daughter's skin (though I remembered afterward I should have done  2/3 instead) based on having tested her with the gray card before.  But as I'm typing this I realized that my younger daughter's darker skin should be metered at only  1/2 or so, and I'm confused about metering again.   At least there's a little bit of catchlight from the overcast sky in Caroline's eyes.  ISO100  1/320sec  f/2.8  After this I tried using the reflector again but I'm having trouble figuring out how to place it.  I'll keep working on it, of course.

The weather today gave me another opportunity to practice shooting in overcast lighting. I didn’t bother with a grey card and just metered at +1 for my older daughter’s skin (though I remembered afterward I should have done +2/3 instead) based on having tested her with the gray card before. But as I’m typing this I realized that my younger daughter’s darker skin should be metered at only +1/2 or so, and I’m confused about metering again. At least there’s a little bit of catchlight from the overcast sky in Caroline’s eyes. ISO100 1/320sec f/2.8 After this I tried using the reflector again but I’m having trouble figuring out how to place it. I’ll keep working on it, of course.

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

