Daily Post: Stroke of Midnight

WordPress sends these daily prompts, “The Daily Post,” and usually I just think of a quick answer as I’m pressing delete and move on.  Perhaps I’ll try writing a blog post for them a couple times a week this year.  I need something else to keep my blog active since I’ve decided not to post my Project 365 photos every day.  Or maybe I will do both. I tend to be indecisive.  But I didn’t post my picture today. You can see it in my new Project 365 gallery though.  Anyway, I do enjoy writing and would like to do it more often.

Where were you last night when 2012 turned into 2013? Is that where you’d wanted to be?

2013 01 01 new year celebration 016 WEB

I was in my family room, walking around taking a video of my family making a ruckus to bring in the new year. This is typical of our New Year’s Eve celebrations. We bang pots and lids and count down with The World Clock and Robert throws a bucket of water out the front door to wash off the new year as it enters, something he has been doing since long before we met 18 years ago. We drink Martinelli’s Sparkling Cider — my tradition for as long as I can remember — or non-sparkling cider for those who don’t like bubbles or chocolate milk for the one who doesn’t like cider at all. I slightly missed toasting in the new year with a wine glass, as our last one had been broken sometime in 2012 (I don’t remember how or when) but I had a pretty new mug my daughter gave me for Christmas.  I’m grateful to celebrate in the comfort of home, with my family, and to be home already when the celebration is over.

p.s. If I keep this up, I’m going to put this cool button in my sidebar. 😀
I'm part of Post A Day 2013

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

