quote All High School Courses Should Be Elective

An article in the Washington Post today suggests that all high school courses should be elective. Of course, I elected not to use school at all for my kids, but for those who are sent to school, I think this is a terrific idea!

The author states, “Very few of us could pass the subject matter tests we once took, or would agree that being unable to do so significantly handicaps us. How can we ignore the implications of that fact?” I have thought this many times over the last decade since I decided to homeschool my children. Also, it’s never too late to learn something. And we learn best that which we are self-motivated to learn. Many of the careers our children will have don’t even exist yet. Furthermore, I wouldn’t wait until high school to allow kids to choose what to study. Young children do well learning in freedom too.

The article doesn’t even mention homeschooling, but it’s another piece of evidence among many that I have seen, showing that the education system is changing. More and more parents are not willing to put up with the outdated old system that is no longer effective. Even though I love homeschooling my kids, I have never imagined schools should disappear. I just believe they are going to be very different someday. It’s exciting to be witnessing this revolution and being part of it.

p.s. If you live in Virginia and are just beginning to consider homeschooling, or even if you’ve been homeschooling for a while, you will find everything you need to know about it at VaHomeschoolers. Registration has begun for the annual conference. Don’t miss it!

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

