Daily Post: My Blog Title

Explain why you chose your blog’s title and what it means to you.

My blog has gone through several transformations (and will again in the future, I have no doubt). One thing that has changed a few times is its title. I don’t even remember all of the titles I’ve used but here is one header I still have in my files.

snapshots header 090904 web

As you can read on my About page, I have always been compelled to record my life, so my blog has always been a journal. I started out wanting to record memories of parenting and homeschooling. As scrapbooking and photography became more regular parts of my daily life I wanted to reflect that in my blog title too. A few years ago I googled something like “photography quotes” and this one by Eudora Welty was one of the results.

“A good snapshot keeps a moment from running away.”

It’s perfect for me, combining my passions for recording memories and photography. Whenever I write here (or in my personal journal, or take a picture) that’s a moment that won’t run away.

I think I’ve stuck with this title for longer than any previous one. But I’m not sure it’s suitable for a professional blog if I ever become a professional photographer. What do you think?

2 comments

  1. I think its a beautiful title, and perfect for you! I also think if you decide to have a “professional blog” (although I don’t reall ythink you need to?), that it should be separate from your personal blog, as those are really 2 different audiences, for the most part. Just my 2 cents worth! 🙂

    Like

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

