Education Revolution

I’ve said for years that we’re in the midst of an education revolution because more and more people are considering educational options carefully. I even created a Meetup group called Education Revolution in Fredericksburg, Virginia last fall when I was briefly involved with a group trying to start a Sudbury School here. A couple of weeks ago I read that the number of homeschoolers is increasing faster than the number of public schoolers (or something like that; too bad I lost the link). And now Peter Gray, one of my favorite bloggers and a psychologist writing for Psychology Today, has written Education Revolution: Help Us Reach the Tipping Point.

Peter Gray writes,

“Our schools fail because they are based on the false premise that education is something that is done to young people by professionals, not something that young people do for themselves.”

Then he goes on to introduce a project of his called The Tipping Point that is intended to hasten the education revolution. I’ve added this link to my Unschooling page.

Learning in freedom can be messy. :)  (Actually this is about a week's worth of build-up from the week I was recovering from bronchitis at the end of May.)
Learning in freedom can be messy. 🙂 (Actually this is about a week’s worth of build-up from the week I was recovering from bronchitis at the end of May.)
