Homeschooling: Doing a “Good Job”

I’ve written about it before. Many people say, “I couldn’t do that,” about homeschooling. In response to hearing this several times one week last December I wrote, You CAN Homeschool.

Penelope Trunk makes another point in Deciding To Homeschool is Not About If You’ll Do A Good Job. Schools are broken. You can’t do worse than the schools are doing. (And you’ll most likely do better.) I’ve added this to the other great articles on my Unschooling page.

I never worried much about curriculum because I was fortunate enough to come across the idea of homeschooling when my first child was barely a toddler. I was reading about unschooling when she was two. I watched as she learned from life and saw that we can’t impose learning on children. We can provide an environment with many opportunities and we can encourage, advise, and help. But learning comes from within.

I have worried about whether I’m doing a “good job,” but doesn’t every parent? It’s just part of life, and these concerns guide us to be mindful of what we’re doing.

discussing a project they were inspired to do one afternoon in May
my daughters discussing a project they were inspired to do one afternoon in May
