2014 Week 11 {negative space} A Place to Rest The Eyes

We include negative space in photos so the viewer’s eye has a place to rest. It also brings attention to the subject.

I failed to get a great photo illustrating negative space this week. The one time I was intentionally trying to do so, my son was actively playing with his stuffed animals. I took about 20 shots and this is the best I got, really! But don’t worry! I have some better photos below this one.

As well as chopped limbs.

Earlier in the week I was practicing dramatic lighting in a beam of light that enters our family room just before sunset. So there’s a lot of negative space here.

Dramatic Cute Froggy

The last two are from a couple of weeks ago, when I had a rental 200mm lens.

Single Leaf

WEB 2014 03 02 lens rental day3 041

Please let me know you were here with a comment and then continue on our Project 52 blog circle to see more examples of negative space. Next is Martine Altena Fotografie.

One comment

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

