How Will You Know Your Homeschool Was Successful?

Hands On The PianoMy favorite homeschool organization, VaHomeschoolers, shared a post from the Simple Homeschool blog today, How Will You Know If Your Homeschooling Has Been Successful? by Jamie McMillin. At first I sort of rolled my eyes, expecting a trite little list. Success is subjective, I’ve long believed. Of course I have entertained doubts as I’m sure everyone does, whether homeschooling or not, but I think that’s more because we can’t predict the future no matter what we do, not because of how differently we’re doing things.

This is my second favorite.I’m glad I clicked through and read the article. I think it’s the best post I’ve ever read at Simple Homeschool, which I stopped reading regularly a year or two ago because I didn’t find it helpful. I agree wholeheartedly with what Jamie is saying. As I read, I learned even more about the independent-minded, creative people in history who have done great things for the world, often eschewing the expectations of their time. And I love that at the same time, the author points out that great things don’t necessarily have to be hugely well-known. My kids have been free to follow their interests from the start and they impress me with what they do in their chosen occupations so I see the truth in this article. Even the comments are good reading!

Fairy #2Let me repeat the quote from the article:

If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away.

Henry David Thoreau

One comment

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

