Thanks to SCAP

Today I’m feeling thankful to some people I met long ago. Thirteen years ago, to be precise. Some names I remember such as Erin, Alaina, Conni, and Katrina. But  there were more.

I was walking around my neighborhood this morning, when I noted that I had managed to fit my walk between the middle school and elementary school bus pick up times — so it was quieter and there were no stinky bus fumes — which led me to ponder how life might have been different had I sent my kids to school.

Then I recalled my discovery of the idea of homeschooling, in the second half of 2001. I had hardly ever heard of homeschooling before 2001. My first baby, Rhiannon, was three months old when I found a yahoogroup (maybe it was still called egroups back then) called SCAP, Slightly Crunchy Attachment Parenting. I unsubbed from the group several years ago, so I don’t know if it still exists, but for several years early in the last decade, it was my favorite parenting support group.  It wasn’t the first place I heard of breastfeeding, babywearing, or co-sleeping, but it was the first I heard about homeschooling.  Prior to reading posts from the homeschooling moms on SCAP, homeschooling was some vague, faraway, unusual idea I’d maybe heard of once or twice, ever.

I’d like to thank the creator(s) of the SCAP group and all the members who posted frequently (whether homeschooling parents or not). You helped me be a more confident parent of my babies and introduced me to the wonderful lifestyle of homeschooling.

If you are still in touch with any SCAP members from 2001 to around 2005, please share this post!

p.s. As for the decision to homeschool, my friend Erin, who I met in SCAP, knows she gets a lot of credit for helping me reach that point a couple of years later! 🙂

* * * * *

Here are my kids using the computer last Monday. They were either reading something or watching a video. It’s been a busy week, and I’ve already forgotten what they were doing when I made the picture, but they’ve read and watched several interesting things over the days, including the script for my girls’ drama club that started up again this week (they’ll be performing Chitty Chitty Bang Bang) and CGPGrey videos.

Siblings On The Computer

One comment

  1. LOL – I didn’t help you reach that point – I just predicted the inevitable. 🙂 You were always going to homeschool, it just took a bit for that to come into focus.

    Thank you for remembering SCAP. What an amazing and impactful experience in our lives.

    Like

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

