Week 38: Selfless Selfie

The prompt was to show who we are without including ourselves in the frame.

I decided to straighten up my desk a bit — no, it doesn’t always look this neat 😉  — and show where I spend a lot of time and some things I do the most. My desk is centrally located in my house, so even when I’m working on my own thing, I’m easily available to my kids.  The kitchen is camera left and nice, southeastern-facing windows are to my right.

I set up the screen in a typical way, with Lightroom open in a big window, email open in the background, and a small window showing a CreativeLIVE class.

Me

One of the most important parts of me is that I’m happily married to a wonderful man, Robert, but my photo only abstractly shows that. There is a glare on the wedding photo of us in the lower left corner of the wall collage. The valentine stuck into the frame next to that photo is one I created for him in Photoshop.  The photo in the upper right corner of the collage, only partly visible, is of Robert holding our middle daughter about 6 years ago. And the calendar, whose theme is fantasy authors, shows Patrick Rothfuss, author of The Name of The Wind and The Wise Man’s Fear, two books we both enjoyed a lot. Most of all, though, all of these things have been possible because Robert is so supportive.  ❤

Me: Beautiful Anarchy

I spend a lot of time on my computer, reading, writing, keeping in touch, organizing events, and playing with photos. The photo you can see in my Lightroom on the screen contains my three kids (ages 13, nearly 11, and nearly 8) and their friends in our homeschool group. Despite being an avid computer user, I still have one foot in the pre-computer age. I have yet to give up my colorful paper desk calendar and I organize notes and stuff in three ring binders. The one on the top of the stack says “Love Aspire Grow” and contains notes about my kids’ doings, a sort of unschooling record. There’s a notebook for my girls’ drama club, in which I’m secretary, and a notebook just for photography notes. I watch CreativeLIVE and hand-write notes. Not shown but on a nearby bookcase are several more notebooks, one for each Clickinmoms class I’ve taken. You can see my Visual Toolbox notebook, prominently placed because I’m determined to finish my year-long study. I’m also beginning to read David DuChemin’s newer book, A Beautiful Anarchy. I identify with that concept beyond photography. One of the magazines, Click, is from my favorite online forum, Clickinmoms. The other, Voice, is from the best group for Virginia homeschoolers, The Organization of Virginia Homeschoolers, for which I’m photo editor. You can also see the 50mm 1.8, the lens I use the most, and my iPhone. Even the stuffed animals represent me: cheerful and playful.

Selfless Selfie

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

