Flashback Friday: 4 ½ Years of Progress

Working in my private folders on my website, where I back up ALL of my photos, I noticed that the yearly collages that my chosen gallery organization structure create are another way to see progress in my photography. Each of the follow images are screen shots of these yearly collages. Each photo is one I chose to represent that month. Since these are private galleries (no one sees them besides close family) I choose the photos that represent the galleries based on sentimentality rather than skill, but I still see growth in these over the years.

Note, the months are arranged in reverse within each year, so the newest is at the beginning for ease of use when I’m navigating them. Also note that I bought my DSLR (Rebel T1i, which I’m still using today) in June 2010, so half of the pictures for that year were taken with my old Sony Cybershot.

2010

2010

Just before buying my Rebel in June 2010, I watched John Greengo’s Fundamentals of Digital Photography at CreativeLIVE, which was one of the factors that encouraged me to buy a DSLR.

2011

2011

I knew before I bought my Rebel that I wasn’t going to leave it in Auto — I wanted more control over my photography — but still, I shot mostly in Aperture Priority for the first couple of years. Also, though I became a member of Clickinmoms in November 2010, I quickly became intimidated and didn’t spend much time there in 2011, choosing instead to focus on digital scrapbooking.

2012

2012

I took Shooting 101 in May 2012, Intro to Natural Light in August 2012, and Mastering Natural Light Indoors in May 2013 at Clickinmoms.

2013

2013

In 2013 I was always shooting in manual and by the end of the year I had mastered the basics of Lightroom. My 2014 goal was to process well at least one photo every day. I missed several days, but never gave up, so I feel pretty good about it.

2014

2014

It’s important for me to look back occasionally and compare my current work to my previous work because I’m so slow it’s hard to see progress in the short term. Plus I just love to remember the old days.  ❤  🙂

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

