Blog Circle: Scenes From Above

Today is the first day of a new blog circle! We’re posting monthly, following a different theme each month. I interpreted our first theme, “scenes from above,” two ways. Either I shot from above, looking down on the tops of things, or I pointed the camera up to capture what was above me.

I am still working on getting back into my daily practice with my DSLR, but I do have something for almost every day if I count my iPhone, so in honor of that, here are some geese who flew above me early in September during a walk in downtown Fredericksburg. My iPhone (which is still only a 4S) takes better pictures than my first digital camera in 2002, and I improve them a little in Lightroom.

Are they leaving or arriving? I still haven't figured out if Virginia is the
Are they leaving or arriving? I still haven’t figured out if Virginia is the “south” where birds fly for the winter, or if they leave here for even further south. 😛

At the VaHomeschoolers Not Back to School picnic we had wonderful shade.

The Tree Above the Picnic

On the 15th, my kids and I met some friends and spent a few hours at Pony Pasture, the rapids of the James River, climbing over the rocks and riding the current. It was still hot and we enjoyed getting wet, but a sign of impending autumn floated by.

WEB 2015-09-15-jamesriver-009

I finally got serious about this project on the 24th, brought my DSLR along with me on a walk, and found many scenes from above.

The Wispy Tree That Loses Its Leave So Early

Above/Overhead is the first theme for the new blog circle I joined, which will be posting once a month starting early in October.

Above/Overhead is the first theme for the new blog circle I joined, which will be posting once a month starting early in October.

Above Me, Leaves Turning Color

More early signs of autumn . . .

Above Me, Leaves Turning Color

Of course, as you may know, I am primarily a people photographer, so I was glad I thought of our blog circle theme last week while we were exploring this replica of Lewis and Clark’s boat at the Lewis and Clark Exploratory Center in Charlottesville.

WEB 2015-09-29-lewis-clark-016

He’s peering into a little square window to see the desk and two beds. You can see the whole boat if you click the link above.

WEB 2015-09-29-lewis-clark-017

Next month I hope to have fewer, better quality photos! Stay tuned.  And remember to visit all the members of our blog circle.  Next up is Ann Tyer .

6 comments

  1. Michelle, I love seeing how we all interpreted the theme and your views of fall are so lovely. It’s my favorite time of year and I miss it so much. The shot of the birds and the leaf in the water are my favorites.

    Like

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

