Scrappy Sunday: Three Pages Today

For the last two weeks, I’ve been spending more time organizing for scrapbooking and reading at forums than actually scrapping.

First of all, I got a new EHD. My old one was nearly full. What better time to improve file organization?  Of course, this is something I’ve been working on for years and I’m not sure I’ll ever get it all organized. At least working on this project inspires me to scrap, as I see items in my digi stash that I’d forgotten about.

Then I learned that Scrap Orchard is closing! I was shocked! It has always been one of the liveliest, most active, most fun digital scrapbooking forums! I haven’t participated there consistently, but I’ve been a member since 2011. Some of the “survivors” of the Scrap Orchard closing have started a Facebook group and we’re exploring other sites, looking for a new home.

Of course, that process isn’t new for me. Since I left Scrapgirls a few years ago, in favor of more scrap-for-hire friendly stores, and then got obsessed with photography and dropped scrapbooking (sadly), I have been trying to find a digiscrap home. I found it for a while at ScrapMatters — until they closed.  (I’ve witnessed several stores close over the years, sadly.) About a year ago, after two years of almost zero scrapbooking, I was determined to settle in a digiscrap home and spent a lot of time visiting sites and comparing them.

It’s hard for me to pick just one place now. I’ve been collecting digiscrap kits and elements for nearly a decade now, and I have stuff from all over the digiscrap world. Also I like to participate in forum challenges because it inspires my scrapping. However, nowadays, all the stores require participants in challenges to use mostly (or all) products from their designers.  Reasonably so, but I want to use my entire stash, not be limited.  I might have to just play along but not for points. The points earn us discounts to more products, which I don’t need anyway!  (Though new stuff is always tempting, and I’m still buying occasionally.)

So now I’m exploring stores again, but this time with others, which is both more fun and helpful. There are threads in the Facebook group for each store and members are discussing them.

The first store I tried out this year, for the first two months, was Sweet Shoppe Designs. I like their bingo style challenges. Every month they offer a card with a 5×5 grid, each square containing a challenge or prompt. To earn a 20% coupon, simply complete 5 layouts following prompts in a traditional bingo-style row on the grid. Or get a 30% coupon for completing a special design of 9 layouts, or do all 25 and receive 40% off! The prompts are creative, and the forum is just busy enough to be interesting without being overwhelming.

Tonight I completed two layouts for the Sweet Shoppe Designs bingo challenge. The first was a challenge to scrap a photo with 3 or more generations. Here’s me with my sister, my mom, my grandma, and my great grandma at a Mother’s Day event long ago. Visit my scrapbook gallery for credits.

ssd-3generations1000.jpg

The other challenge was to include large stripes. Visit my scrapbook gallery for credits.

ssd-largestripes1000.jpg

After a couple months with Sweet Shoppe Designs I returned to The Digital Press, which I had joined when they opened at the end of last November. I think I enjoyed their challenge prompts even more, and I love how their forum works, allowing us to post comments directly on the post to which we’re replying instead of at the end of the thread, and we can click Like on posts. The only thing I haven’t liked at The Digital Press is that the forum is very, very quiet. Sometimes there isn’t even a new post, even if I haven’t visited for a day or two.

I’d love it if the talkative survivors of Scrap Orchard’s closing decided to join me at The Digital Press. I have been more active there than anywhere else this year, the staff is very kind, and the designers are top notch (I’ve built up a respectable stash from their store this year). These three stores, Scrap Orchard, Sweet Shoppe Designs, and The Digital Press, were my top three choices for a new home when I was done with my thorough explorations of the digiscrap world last winter.  A couple others interested me, and still do — DigiChick, where they have the most flexible gallery-posting rules, and maybe even GingerScraps — but I found myself returning mostly to The Digital Press.

The Lilypad is a site I didn’t consider very much, though I can’t remember why. Some are saying it’s expensive. I’ve never shopped there, so I don’t know yet. But when I read the discussion about it in the Facebook group, I visited them again. I was impressed to find a welcome thread mentioning they’d noticed a lot of newcomers recently, so I think they knew Scrap Orchard survivors were dropping in. I was even more impressed by how active the forum is. So I am considering it now.

In fact, I even decided to participate in one of their challenges tonight, the template challenge.  The template, which I modified, and all the elements are by Just Jaimee. They’re all old freebies I’ve collected here and there.tlp-jj-dectemplatechallengeWEB.jpg

It’s actually an exciting time at The Lilypad right now. Today they upgraded their forum. I’m still waiting for their site to come back alive so I can post this layout, and I’m looking forward to seeing how it has changed.

So those are today’s three pages. I would have liked to scrap more, but it’s getting late and I’m getting tired. If you’d like to see more, I did make some pages a couple of weeks ago that I didn’t share. Tonight I updated my scrapbook galleries so click on over to my 2016 Scrapbook gallery or my 2015 Scrapbook gallery and you can see all the pages I’ve made recently.

One of the pages in my 2016 gallery is going to be one of my all time favorites: Rhiannon’s Current Favorite Song. Funny, I think that favorite song has already been replaced with another. There’s a continuous succession of them.  I’ve decided I want to scrap many pages of favorite songs and put them in an album of their own. I love to look up lyrics because often I can’t figure them out just listening to the song.

So many ideas! I can’t wait to get back to it. I wish I didn’t have to sleep.

 

 

2 comments

  1. I never got into Scrapbooking because of the supplies needed, and I wanted pictures not doo dads. I like the idea of digital Scrapbooking, you’ve shown me something new. I have thousands of photos, which I have been working on getting organized and cleaned up. It’s such a time consuming process to sort through, pick the best and delete the rest…or at least archive them. I like what you’ve done!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, scrapbooking can be as simple or complicated as you want. I lean toward the simpler side of the spectrum. I do like a little bit of the doo dads, but I want the focus to be on my pictures. I actually have a love-hate relationship with templates because, for one thing, they often have picture spaces that are too small for my liking, such as the layout above using the template from The Lilypad. (The love comes in when I want to quickly scrap; templates do speed things along, usually.) My usual procedure is to start with photos I want to scrap, arrange them on a blank document, and then choose papers and arrange embellishments around the photos.

      You may like “pocket scrapping” because it’s meant to be simple, with minimal embellishments and standardized “pockets,” so you can get more done. I haven’t done it much myself, but it’s very popular in the digiscrap world right now.

      Have fun!

      Liked by 1 person

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

