Throwback Thursday: The Early Days

July always makes me nostalgic as it is the month during which Robert and I met face-to-face for the first time in 1994 and then we married in July of 1996. These photos aren’t from July — I’m not sure of their exact dates — but I think I took them in 1995 soon after I moved into his bachelor apartment. We lived there together for 9 months before we found our first home together, an apartment in Glendale.

Robert lived in Studio City, within walking distance of Universal Studios, when we first met. That was fun!

WEB1994-1996album017street.jpg

The apartment building was an odd, nearly triangular shape. You  know, land is at a premium in southern California.

WEB1994-1996album017apartment.jpg

His apartment was small but I managed to squeeze my books and desk in with his just fine.

WEB1994-1996album017apartment-inside.jpg

One day I took photos of each of our desks for comparison. I thought mine was an example of fabulous organization. Now I think it looks cluttered. I don’t miss the days of lots of paper.

WEB1994-1996album018-desk-michele.jpg

I shared his computer at first, which is on a separate table to the left, outside of the frame. Do you know what’s in that box near the right side? Ancient computer media.

WEB1994-1996album018-desk-robert.jpg

Looking at the first kitchen where I cooked regular meals makes me appreciate my current kitchen more! And check out that boxy old phone! At least it was advanced enough to be cordless.

WEB1994-1996album017-kitchen.jpg

That’s all for now. There are a few more photos of our apartments but it takes time to get them scanned. There aren’t many. These are from a point-and-shoot 35mm film camera, back in the olden days when we had to pay for every frame, so we didn’t snap as freely as we do today with our digital cameras we carry around in our pockets.  🙂

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

