When My Kids Can Vote

I love Facebook’s On This Day feature. Just yesterday I was remembering that some time ago I had calculated when my kids will first be eligible to vote for a president. I couldn’t remember the details but I remembered that one of my kids might be disappointed by how closely he misses the opportunity to vote in the presidential election closest to his 18th birthday.

Then, this evening, I looked at the posts Facebook offered me in On This Day and look what showed up! It was 2012 when I made those calculations (yay! I don’t feel bad for forgetting the details!). Screen Shot 2016-11-06 at 9.14.11 PM.png

Then there was some discussion and I added more detail.

Screen Shot 2016-11-06 at 9.21.09 PM.png

So Ian will have to wait until the day after he turns 22 to vote for a president. Caroline will only have wait until nearly age 21, and when Rhiannon will be able to vote in the NEXT presidential election, she’ll only be 19! And I still think she is the one most interested in it.  I just asked Ian what he thought about missing the 2024 election by one day and he said he probably won’t care. But then he added, “unless it’s like this year.”

I could have just clicked Share on that old Facebook post, but as I was searching for an interesting image for the post I  remembered that I have some pictures of one time when we brought our girls with us to the voting booth. And I decided to make a quick scrapbook page.

electionday2004WEB.jpg

This was so long ago Ian didn’t exist yet. Maybe the 5 of us will go together this year. Just two more days! I’m so glad the campaigns are nearly over.

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

