Around Our Clock: 8 a.m.

This month I begin a new blog circle. Our theme is Around Our Clock and we publish photos of a single hour once per month. For November we’re showcasing 8 a.m. This was a very challenging hour for me to photograph.

I’m the only one in my household of 5 likely to be awake at 8 a.m. and even I’m sometimes still asleep.  I was reluctant to photograph my sleeping family members. At least one would have been mad (about to turn 13 Caroline). This picture is actually staged. But it was taken around 8:30 a.m. a few days ago! Rhiannon is just pretending to still be asleep. She’s actually a morning bird, so she wakes up pretty easily, and she is my most agreeable photography subject. I think it’s a lovely photo with the light streaming in on that comfy down comforter and it accurately represents 8 a.m. at my house.

WEB2016-11-02-8am-002.jpg

But I browsed through my Lightroom catalog and came up with a few more 8 a.m. activities of mine.  During the warmer half of the year, I usually get my morning walk done by 8 a.m. I photographed this little monster on my front steps during the 8 a.m. hour after my walk one day last August.

WEB2016-08-08-leafy-insect-005.jpg

And 8 a.m. is the default meeting time for my friend Heather and me for our walks every Saturday morning. We are not just out for exercise; we both love photography too. So we enjoy being out at the golden hour, which is often around 8 a.m. like in June when we walked in Mason Neck Park, where I made this photo.WEB2016-06-11-mason-neck-park-001.jpg

After I get back from my walks during the week, I make lunch and breakfast for my husband, usually in the 8 a.m. hour.

WEB2016-06-24-breakfast-003.jpg

Then I sit at my computer and edit pictures, often being distracted by the sun rising in the woods outside the windows to my right, overlooking my backyard. Here are three pictures to compare the scene in different seasons. First, here’s how it looked last September.

WEB2016-09-23-sunrise-through-window-006.jpg

Here are the woods behind my house at 8 a.m. one day last January.

WEB2016-01-24-blizzard-dayafter-036.jpg

And a new shot of the same scene at 8 a.m. on Halloween.

WEB2016-10-31-eightam-003.jpg

Yes, you could say one of my favorite things about 8 a.m. is sunbursts.

Thanks for looking. Don’t stop now. Continue on to see Anna-Liisa Nixon’s 8 a.m.

4 comments

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

