This Year’s Pumpkin Pies

I have always loved pumpkin pie. This year I decided to make two. They were going to both be ordinary, following the recipe on the can of pumpkin. But I hadn’t realized I was running out of coconut milk. Fortunately, I remembered I had a can of sweetened condensed coconut milk, so that would work for one of them. And when I looked for that in my pantry I also found a caramel-flavored sweetened condensed milk. It was cowmilk, but I hoped that baked in it wouldn’t give my tummy too much trouble. Both turned out yummy. Not even too sweet. I did reduce the sugar called for in the recipe, since I was using sweetened condensed milk, but not by much. I still prefer ordinary pumpkin pie, but the embellished one is interesting.

I only photographed the caramel-flavored pie. The pecans I added, thinking I’d need something to tell the two pies apart, was a yummy addition and much more interesting to photograph.

Pumpkin Caramel Pecan PiePumpkin Caramel Pecan PiePumpkin Caramel Pecan PiePumpkin Caramel Pecan PiePumpkin Caramel Pecan Pie

Please comment. I welcome discussion and critique! Thank you!

